Part 2: Scott Harrison’s Advice To Me In December 2019

If you’re more of an audio person, check out the YouTube video linked below. If you’d prefer to read along at your leisure, skip the video and read through the slides :)

VaynerMissions
Feb 22, 2021
Gary, this is my story for how Scott Harrison’s advice back in 2019 has forever impacted me and inspired the vision for VaynerMissions and the larger vision of the 401K for your Soul
In December 2019, I I flew out to New York and had the opportunity to meet Scott Harrison. We had breakfast together and we discussed an idea I wanted to share with him
At that breakfast, Scott even signed the uncorrected proof of his New York Times Bestselling book, Thirst, for me that he and Charity Water gifted me to read months before the book was available for sale to the rest of the public. Scott wrote, ‘Trevor thank you for your passion and care for others. Thanks so much for helping with the book and the cause! Scott
For those viewing that didn’t already know, Scott is both Gary’s friend as well as the founder of Charity Water
Charity Water has a simple mission: to bring clean and safe drinking water to people in developing countries
Because unfortunately, the harsh reality is that 785 million people in the world live without clean drinking water. That’s 1 in 10 people worldwide, or roughly twice the population of the United States
Not only is Gary a Charity Water Well Member and supporter, but Gary has also had Scott on his #AskGaryVee Show on multiple occasions. Now, I’ve included a short 10 second clip from Episode 210 of the Ask GaryVee Show which was uploaded on June 7th, 2016 so I can answer a question that Gary asked Scott. As you just heard, the question Gary asked was, ‘What’s the next scalable version of the birthday thing?’
And the answer was briefly mentioned in the previous video. It’s the 401K for your Soul.
What’s been missing from the incredible birthday movement that Scott started when he founded Charity Water in 2006 is the support, recognition, involvement and contributions from our employers and the companies we all work at
And Scott agreed with me. Now during my conversation with Scott over breakfast and as he showed me around Charity Water’s corporate headquarters that morning, Scott told me three things
First he said, ‘The world needs your vision. There is a huge disconnect between Corporate Social Responsibility Programs and what employees actually care about and want’
Then he said, ‘What you’re trying to do is going to be incredibly hard, but it’ll be impactful and you’ll make a difference in people’s lives if you stay the course’
And finally Scott ended with, ‘To reinvent corporate philanthropy, start with one company. Others will eventually follow’
So, I decided to start with VaynerMedia
and I piloted VaynerMissions in 2020. So Gary, if you’re inspired yet again and want to better understand the vision I’ve laid out for VaynerMissions at VaynerMedia after obsessing over Scott’s feedback and advice he gave me in December of 2019, check out the next short video on VaynerMissions website

--

--

VaynerMissions

Think Facebook birthday 🎁 fundraisers, but at VaynerX 🍯 🌆 and on your Vaynerversary instead ❤️